Krieg - KMFDM Review

Released: January 5, 2010
Label: KMFDM

When KMFDM, self-proclaimed creator of the Ultra Heavy Beat, released their next remix album, Krieg, I was pretty excited to give it a listen due to how much I enjoyed Blitz (2009 studio album) and the awesome Brimborium (Remix album to Tohuvabohu back in 2007) and Ruck Zuck EP of 2006.
Tracks in this remix album vary from Industrial beats to 70s Disco vibe to Industrial Metal. All in all, most of the music you’ll hear from this album will be leaning towards its Industrial Music roots. To keep things fresh in Krieg, KMFDM recruits an impressive lineup of musicians, from the likes of Combichrist, Prong, Ivan de Plume, tweaker and KMFDM’s very own Andy Selway. However, with such a diverse lineup, not all the tracks will cling onto you instantly or maybe, never.
  1. Bait & Switch (All 4 One Mix)
  2. Strut (Disco Balls Mix)
  3. Potz Blitz! (Harmonic Tremors Mix)
  4. Bait & Switch (Sacred Cow Mix)
  5. Never Say Never (Naughty Habit Mix)
  6. People of The Lie (Requiem Mix)
  7. Bitches (Pop Will Eat This Mix)
  8. Never Say Never (Confessional Mix)
  9. People of The Lie (Crooked Illusion Mix)
  10. Davai (Cyrillic Mix)
  11. Never Say Never (Candy Apple Mix)
  12. Davai (Bloody Fog Mix)
Steve White, Jules Hodgson, Sascha "Kapt'n K" Konietzko, Lucia Cifarelli, Andy Selway

Opening with the Club-Industrial beats of “Bait & Switch (All 4 One Mix)” by Combichrist, you will then be greatly surprised by the Andy Selway remix of “Strut” that comes straight after with its classic Disco hooks. With all the different variety of sounds that will follow after the first few tracks, “Davai (Cyrillic Mix)” fails to move away from the original sound of the track which is quite disappointing considering that this track came from Tweaker. However the 2nd remix, “Davai (Bloody Fog Mix)”, is a much better remix with its intense amount of synths and extended beats.
The remixes that do justice to the original track or does an even better job than the studio tracks are “Potz Blitz! (Harmonic Tremors Mix)” by Seismologist, the haunting sounds “People of The Lie (Requiem Mix)” by Koichi Fukuda of Static-X and my personal favourite, “Bait and Switch (Sacred Cow Mix)" by Prong with its heavy hitting guitars and drums that seem to make the track their own instead of KMFDM’s. Trust me, listen to both versions of “Bait & Switch” and you’ll be amazed at how intense the remix is.
Aside from the difference in quality of instrumentations and arrangement, the lyrics in the remix tracks are no different from the studio version.
Overall, I’m very impressed with Krieg as it delivers year-old tracks that don’t even remind me of its age. Give this album a listen irregardless of whether you like or hate Blitz, it might just make you love the tracks again or realise what you’ve missed out on in 2009.

65% wicked

0 confessed: