Queens of The Stone Age - ...Like Clockwork

Released: 3 June 2013
Label: Matador, Rekords Rekords
Almost seven years in the making and recovering from a near-death experience, Josh Homme brings the posse back together and unleashes one of the most creatively seductive album of 2013. Leave your left feet outside, Queens of The Stone Age are back and they're gonna make you dance and cry at the same time.

Josh was definitely onto something by including musicians like Trent Reznor, Dave Grohl, Elton John and long-time collaborators, Mark Lanegan, Alain Johannes and Nick Oliveri (didn't see this one coming) in the mix. What resulted is nothing short of an amazing cauldron of riffs, fuzz, thumps and coos, that might just be on par with their critically acclaimed Songs For The Deaf, 2002 (or Rated R,2000, depending on the individual).

  1. Keep Your Eyes Peeled
  2. I Sat By The Ocean
  3. The Vampyre of Time and Memory
  4. If I Had a Tail
  5. My God Is The Sun
  6. Kalopsia
  7. Fairweather Friends
  8. Smooth Sailing
  9. I Appear Missing
  10. ...Like Clockwork
Opening the trip is brooding bass-trodden Keep Your Eyes Peeled, a track that pretty much sets the mood for almost the whole album. It is a dark and melancholic trip through a dizzying array of conflicting melodies that sound like they're going to fall apart at any moment. But, it won't.

Personally, the album takes a more conceptual approach once The Vampyre of Time and Memory comes in with an almost minimalist composition of piano, drums and vocals and some ambient noises. Followed by If I Had A Tail and My God Is The Sun, I just can't help but picture a scenario of lost hope that turns into anger that finally trancends into a higher understanding of self. I might just be reading too much into the structure of the music and it might just be about sex and banging in the back seats of race cars, but this is my own personal interpretation. So ignore it and enjoy the amazing musicianship if you don't like it.

The rest of the album are chocked full of goodness too, Fairweather Friends is quick and to the point in its delivery of addictive choruses and riffage. Smooth Sailing brings good ol' boogie down QoTSA with classic fuzz solos and sexy basslines. Finally, I Appear Missing brings forth an intense buildup of psychedelic riffs, a chorus that will have you singing along and a drum beat that seems to compliment every peak and trough.

Progressive and daring, solid yet fragile enough to break apart at the slightest prod, and an emotional journey from start to end ...Like Clockwork is a must-listen by anyone who enjoys their share of good music. and I'm probably giving this a full score cause I think Troy is a total vampire cause he is still hot over the years.

Writer's fave: If I Had A Tail, I Appear Missing, Fairweather Friends

7 out of 7 sins
Pros: Creative songwriting, Dave Grohl, captivating from start to finish
Cons: Feels short

0 confessed: